Falling in Love……With Tanka

****

in the courtyard
at the nursing home
day lilies open
my mother wonders, again
what season it is

****

****

june evening
a white-throated sparrow sings
my father’s whistle
calling me home for dinner
I’m eight again

****

****

in the garden
the gentle sound 
of cooing doves
my body leans into
the dawn music

****

****

somewhere
between sunrise
and the heart
 words rise up – teetering
on the edge of a poem

****

****

long married
our conversation 
 happens
in the heart space
where no words are needed

****

****

dove song
on the breeze
my desire
a morning scented rose
for you

****

I have fallen in love with tanka and the sudden expansiveness of five lines after writing tight little haiku for so long.  I like being able to put a bit of emotion into the poem too.  These are a few I’ve written in the past month or so. What do you think?

Here is a link about getting started with tanka: Tanka On Line

I’m learning about tanka on a facebook page called ‘Tanka Poets On Site,’ where one can find wonderful poems and prompts written by many outstanding poets.

5 thoughts on “Falling in Love……With Tanka

Thank you!

