Winter Question

banner

****

How is it possible that,
 on a morning when the clouds,
curling back upon themselves,
and  giving up only momentary corridors of bare sky,
on a morning when those maddeningly small tokens of blue
taunt and tease a rain-weary,  fog-weary heart,
how, I ask again,
is it that the sighing wind,
 bending toward the naked oak tree,
can carry a burst of bird song
through the myriad layers
of a morose winter morning,
piercing the frozen edges of  a january nap
prodding and poking me out of  my
january nest?

By what miracle does a Carolina wren,
the tiniest of wintering birds,
on the gloomiest of winter days,
sing in the only voice
the universe gave it,
an April voice,
conjuring up a stunning moment of spring,
and bestowing a blessing
on the rain besotted morning,
 anointing my eyes and ears
with the chrism of its winter anthem,
just in time to save my dispirited soul
from the depths of winter silence?

****

©2014 Wabi Sabi

Wren at the Feeder ©2014 WS

Wren at the Feeder ©2014 WS

Carolina Wren ©2014 WS

Carolina Wren ©2014 WS

Inspired by Alice Keys ‘ Morning Song

For Sunday Whirl -#144
For Recuerda Mi Corazon – postcards from paradise
For Poets United – poetry pantry

29 thoughts on “Winter Question

  1. To me, the best part was:

    “sing in the only voice
    the universe gave it,
    an April voice”

    Overall, the piece did capture the bleakness of winter, a bleakness I share annually. Seeing that one bird would be rather miraculous, I agree.

    Like

  2. I do love this, thank you, for in the early morning before the dawn aware of yet another rainy day, and my heart feeling the grey of January, i hear the little song too and this gives me a feeling of optimism….x

    Like

  3. i hung on every light filled word, the way a small bird curls graceful feet around the branches of life singing the first buds free.
    thank you for brightening my moment.

    Like

  4. Love this part:

    By what miracle does a Carolina wren,
    the tiniest of wintering birds,
    on the gloomiest of winter days,
    sing in the only voice
    the universe gave it,
    an April voice,

    Like

  5. Wabi,
    Thanks for the link. And WOW! This is fabulous and amazing.

    You’re right. I missed the pingback. I’ve been missing I LOT since we dropped into third-world internet. But today… I’m in a Toulouse hotel with real internet tonight.

    Keep writing!
    Alice

    Like

Thank you!

