Haiku My Hopeful Heart

****

It seems that what we long for most in this season of darkness and silence,
this season of dormancy and cold,

is a glimmer of hope.

 We hunger for meaning in our lives,
for the warmth of another’s loving touch,
for something to believe in with open waiting hearts.

 Sometimes that glimmer comes in the unexpected catch in the throat at the sight of a winter sunset
or in the look of joy on a child’s face,
in a half remembered dream that fills us with ecstasy,
or it comes when we take to heart  the outrageous idea that we can find a way to love one another –
in spite of different cultures, languages, divergent philosophies and beliefs.

I created this haiga and sent it as a Christmas card to all my family and friends this year
I am posting it for all of you,
the friends I have come to know across the world
through your words, your poetry and your warm and wonderful comments on my writing.

In this season of  anticipation,
may each and every one of you experience the peace
that can come with an open heart filled with hope.


****

Red Twig Dogwood in Winter©2013 Wabi Sabi
Red Twig Dogwood in Winter©2013 Wabi Sabi

For Recuerda Mi Corazon – haiku my heart

For Haiku Heights gifts

For Poets United – Pantry

For Carpe Diem – celestial

28 thoughts on “Haiku My Hopeful Heart

  1. I do agree that at this dark season we all are looking for hope & meaning as well. Once the darkest day is behind us, it feels good to every day welcome a little more light!

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. I’m so happy to be receiving this haiga from you. I think this poem goes beyond the darkness and gloom that winter brings in its wake. It’s a poem that can dispel the winter in our hearts and lives with the strength of its warmth.

    Like

  3. magicalmysticalteacher

    It was worth coming back for a second read, my friend. Thank you for these words of grace to send me on my way to Mexico! Merry Christmas!

    Like

Thank you!

