Surprised

IMG_1052 - surprised

Prompt –

‘touched
in the darkness
by a snowflake’
Garry Gay

A note about my process. This poem started out as a haiku :

 ‘surprised
in the fall garden
scent of lavender’

 The experience was real enough.  I was wandering around my somewhat neglected  late autumn garden this morning and I discovered some lavender that was blooming.  I grabbed a bunch of it and took a few photos.  The scent was heavenly and unusual for this time of year and not only was I surprised but delighted and a bit intoxicated by the fragrance! I looked at the prompt later in the day and decided to work my experience into the prompt.  In creating the haiga, I needed to move away from the temptation to simply state the obvious e.g. describe the photo.  Voila!

16 thoughts on “Surprised

  1. Beautiful haiga definitely! My courtyard is somewhat protected from cold and wind and my lavender are blooming too. Didn’t think of bringing it indoors for some reason. Will do it tomorrow.

    Like

  2. I love those little gardening surprises. On my header, the flowers were blooming in a sheltered part of a local park. Was a joy to come across the blooms when everything else is slipping down and becoming compost. Autumn is an overlooked time of love. It’s my absolute favorite season. Needless to say, I loved your haiga.

    Like

Thank you!

