Salt and Pepper

120

From the moment I noticed

( it was in a fourth grade geography book) 

there was another landscape outside my own 

small windowpane, 

the plan was to throw on a pair of shoes

escape to the mountains,

to Canada,

to California , 

anywhere, 

 and everywhere; 

just the thought of the going

sent me to a place in my head where

my breath mingled with holier shadows

than the ones I could see.

I lost the thread one day,

and the plan changed with a kiss,

a kiss that kept me rooted, 

a gravity that pulled me toward bread-baking

and salting the earth 

(with daughters)

the shoes still sit at the front door 

burning me with desire 

to wander the walking road –

just go.

I try to put on the hiking boots, 

and discover they are nailed to the floor

by two small boys

playing with their grandfather’s tools.

Pepper holds me.

**

©2013 Wabi Sabi

For Sunday Whirl ‘ Wordle #120’

For Poets United ‘poetry pantry’

18 thoughts on “Salt and Pepper

  1. ha. hopefully the nailed boots are just a metaphor…and family is def a good reason to stay…and two little boys for sure…i get the travel bug occassionally…it is good to stay though

    Like

  2. “From the moment I noticed ( it was in a fourth grade geography book) there was another landscape outside my own small windowpane, the plan was to throw on a pair of shoes escape”

    I love this part of your poem so much. Fourth grade is when I started longing to “escape” as well.

    The travel bugs have taken over my life to the point that I’m reluctant to buy anything that can’t be eaten. :-)) Alice

    Like

  3. I can so relate ~ I wish I can travel and move around more, but there are shoes and obligations to fulfill ~ And darn on those kisses, they do keep us rooted, smiles ~

    Like

Thank you!

