Haiku My Heart – Hot, Hot, Hot

Heat wave!

In my part of the world a heat wave always comes with humidity.  And, of course, the more humid it is, the more people complain about the heat.

I created this little haiga when I noticed that even the shaded (and well watered) ferns in my garden look frazzled. Although I loved the shot just as it was, I decided to play around with it.  I wanted the plants to look more stressed than they did the day I took the photo.  This is the result:

Altered Fern Photo©2013 Wabi Sabi

Altered Fern Photo©2013 Wabi Sabi   

 

I hope everyone finds  a cool breeze, a shady spot to rest and a tall, cold drink on this hot day!

For Recuerda Mi Corazon ‘Haiku My Heart’

21 thoughts on “Haiku My Heart – Hot, Hot, Hot

  1. It’s hot and humid here in Wisconsin too. I’ll be leaving around noon on my motorcycle. Generates my own cool breeze with every mile. I stopped using descriptive words like “good” and “bad” to describe weather a long time ago. My thinking was that someone, somewhere, needed what was happening where I was and that how it affected me wasn’t important in the giant scheme of nature’s plan.
    I love what you’ve done in the photo. The fern does indeed look frazzled. Your haiku, even though telling a tale of woe for the poor plant, is whimsical and bright. Seems to help me keep that good/bad perspective.
    Have a wonderful day.

    Much Peace sent your way

    Like

    • Your attitude is wonderful! We live in the temperate zone and the weather is what it is. And truly, what it is, is (usually) wonderful. I wanted this piece to be longer but I am preoccupied with a new little grandson who is still in the hospital. My grandmother taught me words of wisdom many decades ago. Her wry comment has sustained me through much, much more than unpleasant weather. When I was nine months pregnant with my first child and quite uncomfortable, she said these words to me which I never forgot, “This, too, will pass.” I’m delighted you saw humor and whimsy in my haiga. That is exactly what I was aiming to convey. Have a cool ride today, Spadoman!

      ________________________________

      Like

  2. You can find that perfect solution for a hot and humid day on my blog today Wabi!! 🙂 We are done with the hot and humid days and the blazing sun scorching all in its way!! It is cool and breezy monsoon time for us with water water everywhere, damp and humid but still welcome for the next couple of months!! The trees and plants are lush and green bereft of all dirt and dust!! The air actually smells of spring!! 🙂

    Like

Thank you!

