From My Garden to Yours

****

mere leaves

alchemy in a woman’s hand

grow into love

****

 

Basil

Basil

I looked hard for a postcard to send to the hot and arid Arizona landscape, from which so much love and joy arrives each week. I am blessed to receive Rebecca’s loving posts from her blog Recuerda Mi Corazon.

Lemon Verbena

Lemon Verbena

 Sometimes  she sends flowers, sometimes poetry, always there are the joyful and rich colors of her world. And always she sends an outpouring of love.  It reaches me here in my watery island world which is, at the moment, filled with green.  

Bronze Fennel

Bronze Fennel

Saturday, a virtual package arrived – delicious gorgeous hibiscus tea in icy pitchers -perfect for a hot summer day.  My favorite tea!

Chamomile

Chamomile

 I can not grow hibiscus here in this temperate zone, but I can order it from an organic grower and I do.  It has become one of my favorite ingredients to add to various herbal teas that I make for summer and winter use.  

Oregano

Oregano

Many of the herbs I use in my teas are growing where I can reach out and touch them as I type.  I felt so much joy as I wandered my tiny garden yesterday.  The intricate designs on each leaf  caught my attention as I wondered about the Creator’s design for me.  

Sage

Sage

So here is my offering to you, Rebecca.  Photos of my herbs – up close – showing their beautifully designed leaves.

African Basil

African Basil

 Each one can be added to your tea, for nutrition, healing, calm, rejuvenation, sleep, vitality.  Gifts from our great green earth! 

Peppermint

Peppermint

 May you drink your tea in good health and may you know that your beautiful garden, Recuerda Mi Corazon, grows here in my part of the world!

With love!

 

For Recuerda Mi Corazon ‘postcards from paradise’

13 thoughts on “From My Garden to Yours

  1. dear sweet you,
    you cannot imagine the chain of events that occurred in my life today. arriving here this evening your generosity of love and these offerings from your garden are touching me in a way you could never have dreamed of. today i had to face how deeply my physical abilities have waned. i will admit i guard myself against the horizon that looms in my future. i have a rare disease that day by day destroys my skeletal muscles. i carefully choose to engage in activities that will not reveal just how bad things are unraveling.
    but today…..
    i had my husband drive me to a meeting a few miles from our home. i had never been there and we live in a historic town with very tall and uneven curbs made from stone. so i asked for a ride because i was afraid i would not be able to get up the curb if it was too tall.
    i thought i could get a ride home but asked my husband to keep the phone near by just in case.
    some how i kept getting his voice mail. so i did something brazen. i started to walk the few miles home. i thought simply that before i had walked a block or two i would reach him. i also thought it showed initiative. a grand trusting adventure.
    i just could never seem to reach him so i pressed on. after an easy block it all became an uphill climb. i almost fell twice because my muscles quite simply “melted” and were harder and harder to direct.
    i managed to press on with growing difficulty and mounting stress. i felt so exposed, people openly looking at me wondering what could be wrong. at one moment i crossed paths with a man who was easily in his eighties and as we walked close enough, he walking down hill, i walking up hill, the heartbreaking reality that i could walk no faster than this feeble elderly man.
    somehow incredibly s l o w l y i made it a few miles ….and it was now time to cross a busy street. i had to take shelter in the shade and sat on a low brick wall under the shade of a large vibrant tree.
    i sat in the shade as my legs shock. my muscles in a complete melt down. i sat there and wanted to cry. i still could not reach my husband. i looked at the street, with the busy traffic and i knew i was in trouble. i sat there and realized i had no water, and home seemed an insurmountable trek away.
    i sat there and realized i have reached new lows physically.

    and then i looked up. into this enormous tree with the multitude of green leaves and the light pouring through it.

    i looked and struggled to replace my loss, my insecurities, my disabilities with the gorgeous architecture of these one thousand leaves of light. i tired to let the beauty fill me and let go of the exhausting loss that comprises my life.

    i did make it home. i did.

    and when i arrived here the love you have offered me from your heart and garden have sheltered me just like that guardian tree saved me this afternoon.
    and that is why l am thanking you with all my heart.

    Like

    • Your description of your day gripped me from start to finish. It is a compelling example of how we are called, in this life, to let go -continually- let go, sometimes gradually and sometimes rather precipitously. It seems life is a dance of embracing that which we have and letting go of that which is gone. I am so happy you made it home, in spite of the difficulties you encountered along the way. And isn’t it wonderful that you also encountered that glorious tree and the healing shade it freely gave you! Your courage in the face of your illness and your joy embracing the gifts in your life, shine in every word and image you share so generously each week.Thank you. You are a gift! May you experience the healing that comes with living each moment to the fullest! Peace be with you!

      ________________________________

      Like

  2. Rebecca’s story illustrates why we offer our little bits and pieces to each other. Like the loaves and fishes blessed by Jesus, our little becomes much when offered in love. Thank you, Wabi, for your offering.

    Like

Thank you!

