Haiku My Heart With Golden Stars and Sunflowers

****

seeing stars

takes on a whole new meaning

after surgery

****

   During my stay in a hospital this past week for surgery, I was so blessed to be surrounded by golden stars.

*

*

I did not miss the night sky.

IMG_1593

*

There were caring doctors and nurses and dozens of others who, in a million small ways, lit the way for me.

*

IMG_1596

*

My sweet partner and my children , ever there,  ever ready to help, are the golden lights of my life -beacons in the darkness, giving comfort with just a look or a word or a light touch. 

*IMG_1599

*

And of course, there were a few moments of darkness when I saw stars from pain or fear.  

*IMG_1602

*

In that darkness, a still, small light, the star that guards and guides my life, burned steady.  When all else is gone this Light never leaves me. 

*IMG_1604

*

When I arrived home, the stars in my garden had been getting a small welcoming party ready for me.  This morning there were golden stars everywhere I looked!

 I am truly blessed.


*

****

how can I not smile

seeing your golden face –

sunflower?

****

©2013 photos and words Wabi Sabi

For Recuerda Mi Corazon ‘haiku my heart’

For Carpe Diem ‘sunflower’

I may be slow to visit but I will make my way around!

28 thoughts on “Haiku My Heart With Golden Stars and Sunflowers

  1. Beauty abounds in your words and images. Welcome back. Don’t move to quickly or rush to catch up. We’re here whenever. So happy to see you back and hope all is well with post surgery status.

    Like

  2. Sorry to read you were in hospital and needed surgery…glad u are recovering with the love & support of your wonderful family. Your words are beautiful and uplifting as usual. Wishing u a speedy and restful recovery. All the best! 🙂

    Like

  3. Glad you are back, well and at your haiku best!! With so much love and beauty around you, surely your recuperation too will be quick!! Wishing you the very best!!

    Like

  4. Good to hear that you are OK after the surgery, and what a joy to read that the doctors and nurses have lit your time in the hospital. It’s a great compliment for the hospital.
    Wonderful photos and nicely composed haiku. Get well soon.

    Like

  5. Your post gave me the shivers down my spine and made me feel humble… there is indeed so much to be grateful for. I promise I will try to hold on to that today! I am glad you are at home and feeling fine! Enjoy the weekend

    Like

  6. Dang! While I was busy moving to France, you were having surgery. I will be catching up on things. Be well. What a lovely post today. I really like “the star that guards and guides my life, burned steady”. Me, too. 🙂 Thanks fro taking the time out to read and comment today. Alice

    Like

  7. What a beautiful night sky you have painted here with your words and haiku. To see the world in this way is so healing and has touched me deeply. Thank you for this gift. May you continue to heal and feel the love of all these stars shining upon you every minute of each day.

    Like

  8. dear friend,
    your haiku and your words all are a comfort. knowing you choose the light and are so loving surrounded by it is manna to my heart. may we all find the stars in our darkest hours, and when we find the light may we all share it as generously as you!

    Like

Thank you!

