Wherein The Muse’s ‘Vehicle’ Goes in the Shop For Repairs

banner
 
****
The muse won’t tell a LIE….
the truth is, she must lie STILL,
teetering on the edge
of tomorrow’s forest
 
OK,
I made that up,
there is no forest,
(a jungle maybe)
the truth is, she must lie still
on the edge of a surgeon’s table.
 
All right,
I made that up too,
 she won’t be on the edge
of the table –
NO,
more like stage center,
at the head of the class,
letting all the young doctors
watch the surgeon
making tracks on her belly,
OK
another fabrication…
not tracks – incisions,
the surgeon will cut her
while her muse, pale and mute
wallows in drug dreams
leaving her body, her vehicle
in a complex heap,
a mess,
while they peer into whatever
openings the surgeon makes,
 getting all the answers for their files.
Once it is over,
she won’t LIE AROUND
she’ll be up and about,
revving the motor,
cruising the hallways,
LYING in wait
 for her belly to rumble back to life…
that rumble is the ‘get out of jail free‘ card
 the ticket out of the repair shop
 with a full tank of gas,
and that’s NO LIE !
 
****
©2013 Wabi Sabi
 
For The Sunday Whirl where the words for this week are -tracks, edge, files, lie, mess, complex, gas, forest, still, pale, answers, class.
For Poets United ‘poetry pantry’
 
I know this is a crazy, silly poem but it kept me busy as I prepare for surgery on Monday.  I do apologize for forcing the words to suit my agenda and especially for the ending. (Really!? Gas!?)
I will be off the poetry circuit for a few days but plan to return as soon as the drugs wear off and the muse sobers up!
 
If you would like to read another poem I wrote about my  ‘vehicle,’  here’s a link  to ‘Joy Ride.’
Until we meet again, peace!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
39 thoughts on “Wherein The Muse’s ‘Vehicle’ Goes in the Shop For Repairs

  1. No apoloiges needed – instead applause – and I highly doubt your Muse will be pale and mute wallowing in “drug dreams” … instead I see here gathering all sorts of floating filamented fragments as she guards her vessel until it wakes to write again. Sweet dreams – healthy awakenings… 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your comments. I am hoping to be ‘pale and mute’ only while under anesthesia! The rest of the time I intend to take notes for future poems!

      ________________________________

      Like

  2. I understand writing just to write before a time of surgery. Writing is good and necessary escapism sometime at times like this. I am hoping all will be well, and you will come out of the ‘repair shop’ good as new.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this a lot – no wonder your mind went in this direction with surgery looming! I’m wishing you a successful procedure and speedy recovery – thank you for sharing your lovely writing.

    Like

  4. Beautiful, playful and necessary. We explore what we face in our work… Writing this must have been good therapy. I love the voice in the piece. Strong write. Good luck, my thoughts will be with you this week.

    Like

  5. Absolutely delightful! I’m impressed with all your lies! So how do I know, from now on, when you’re telling the truth? 🙂 (A swift and complete recovery to you, dear Wabi.)

    Like

  6. Pingback: Fireworks | Wabi Sabi~~~poems and images

  7. i’m just reading today; hope this is not a serious poem, cause i smiled while reading it ; haven’t done mine yet; maybe within the next 2 days; have a nice Sunday

    much love…

    Like

  8. I think it is very important to let your muse take you by the hand and take you wherever she damn well likes. It amuses her and it is so good to hear her laugh.

    Like

Thank you!

